3 Ways to Follow-Up After Networking

Plus, what I'm reading

Networking, how to network and the proper ways to go about networking are questions you ask during summits and member events. Last week I walked you through how I get out of awkward conversations, and today I'm walking you through how to touch base after making strategic connections. With that mindset, networking will be a breeze. Don't hesitate to let your networking techniques filter into your personal life! Meet someone at a coffee shop? Walk away from the conversation with one new thing you didn't know. Go on a date that was worse than bad? Who cares, what did you learn?

"Everyone you meet knows something you don't know" Ashley Balla, Halogen VC (coming to the podcast in July)

@alexa_curtis and @alexacurtisunfiltered on TikTok

For the follow-up that's only to follow-up: alter your email as necessary

Hi Alexa, it was so great to connect with you at the event. I'd love to stay in touch for future projects that may come across your desk and vice versa. This is my contact information - I look forward to continuing the conversation!

For the follow-up that's based on a conversation surrounding a potential job opportunity:

Hi Alexa, it was great to meet you last week. I wanted to follow-up after our conversation and see if you can pursue the conversation about the (role you're hiring for or the position you saw) with me. If so, I'd like to set a phone call and discuss this opportunity further - if it's easier for you to introduce me to someone else to pursue the conversation with them further to save time, I'd love to be connected with them as well. I look forward to hearing from you!

For the follow-up that you don't have any expectations surrounding but had a great conversation & want to know more about this person:

Hi Alexa, it was great to meet you last week! I'd love to continue the conversation and learn more about what you're building, are you available for a phone call next week? Speak soon!

What is holding you back from being fearless?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

As I've pursued new avenues of entrepreneurship, I've found the more successful I've become, the harder shit gets. The moments of doubt are grander and the desire to be successful leaves me feeling exceptionally ruthless. Go get a library card and read these three books before and during your journey.

What I’m reading:

Hangry, Mike Evans/ I just got a library card (woo!) and my first read was Hangry. If you're a founder who questions how you'll feel when you reach "the top" read this.

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight/ Shoe Dog is a WINNER. Legit, a winner. If you're questioning yourself, your journey, or your company - reading Phil Knight's book will remind you the process to success is what matters.

Stop Worrying and Start Living, Dale Carnegie/ This is the only book I read over and over. Almost every morning I read a chapter of this book (Dale suggests reading this book over and over, so I'm not crazy!) because I'm a worrier. This book has helped me overcome my worrying, and the stories shared throughout the book empower me to remember that my worrying originates from a place of anxiety about the future. What's to worry about in the future when you only have right now?

You’ve got this. Let’s be fearless together!

Alexa

Join the conversation

or to participate.